Latest News

Clarification expected from CRA on March 18 COVID-19 economic relief package
The tax community has many questions regarding details of the March 18 package of economic relief measures announced by the federal government to address the COVID-19 pandemic. The Foundation is working collaboratively with CPA Canada, APFF and other stakeholders to communicate these concerns.  At this time, it is expected that the Canada Revenue Agency will be posting a list of issues and associated responses, as they become available. Our website will be updated to provide this link for our members. In addition, should you have a query that is not included in the original list, please forward to us at conferences@ctf.ca and we will forward as appropriate.

April 7
Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy Feedback

Over the last few weeks, the Canadian Tax Foundation has been actively collaborating with other stakeholders to raise issues and suggestions relating to tax aspects of the economic response to the COVID-19 pandemic. We have been updating our website and sharing responses from government through various channels as information becomes available.
 
Thank you to all of our members and others in the business and tax community for your input. The attached document, which was jointly prepared by CPA Canada and the Foundation, summarizes the questions that were recently forwarded to the tax authorities about the Canada Employment Wage Subsidy (CEWS).
 
We look forward to clarification of these points and invite your additional suggestions.

Click here to view document

April 1
Department of Finance Update:

Finance Minister Bill Morneau today provided further details on the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS) and the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB). The CERB is to deliver $2,000/month for those not receiving EI. For the CEWS, eligible employers who suffer a drop in gross revenues of at least 30 percent in March, April, or May, when compared to the same month in 2019, are able to access the subsidy for up to three months, retroactive to March 15.  The employer must attest that it is doing all it can to pay the remaining 25 percent, and it must apply for the subsidy monthly. Applications will be made online via a CRA portal, with payment anticipated in six weeks.There will be significant penalties for abuse of the program

General details available here

More to be added to our website when released.

March 31
On March 30, 2020 the CRA provided updated information on income tax filing and payment dates.

Click here for details

March 27
On March 27, the federal government announced additional economic measures to support small business and entrepreneurs. These measures include (1) an increase in wage subsidies to 75 percent, backdated to March 15, so that employers can keep workers on the payroll; and (2) loan guarantees. Also, the deadline for the payment of GST/HST and import/export duty has been extended to June. In addition, the government has confirmed that the new $2000-a-month Canada Emergency Response Benefit will be taxable.

Click here for details

The Québec government announces new measures to help individuals and businesses on March 27,2020

Québec is following the federal government’s lead and allowing businesses to postpone filing until June 30, 2020 their returns and payments in respect of the March 31, April 30 and May 31 QST remittances, without interest or penalties. Moreover, Québec will accelerate the processing of requests for tax credits intended for businesses and tax refunds. Revenu Québec is also establishing new initiatives to make life easier for individuals and businesses.

Click here for details

March 26
COVID-19 Update: Additional measures from the Canada Revenue Agency

On March 26, the Government of Canada announced further details of fiscal measures that it is taking as part of the COVID-19 economic relief package.

Click here for details

Revenu Quebec:

Questions and answers from Revenu Quebec about tax measures put in place due to the situation stemming from COVID-19 .

Click here for more details

March 26
Alberta's COVID-19 Response:

Corporate income tax deferral
As announced on March 18, 2020, Alberta businesses with corporate income tax balances that become owing on or after today or instalment payments coming due between March 18, 2020 and August 31, 2020, can defer making these payments until August 31, 2020.

For more information, see Special Notice Vol. 5 No. 56 – Deferral of Corporate Income Tax Payments.

Click here for details
March 25
Government introduces Canada Emergency Response Benefit to help workers and businesses

To support workers and help businesses keep their employees, the Government of Canada has passed legislation to establish the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB). This taxable benefit will provide $2,000 a month for up to four months for workers who lose their income as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The CERB will be a simpler and more accessible combination of the previously announced Emergency Care Benefit and Emergency Support Benefit. 

Click here to find out our more
The government of Ontario today released a one-year economic and fiscal update. Ontario’s Action Plan: Responding to COVID-19 outlines the government’s $17 billion response.  

Tax measures include a proposed temporary increase to the Employer Health Tax exemption; a proposed new corporate income tax credit—the Regional Opportunities Investment Tax Credit; a five-month interest and penalty-free period in which to make payments for the majority of provincially administered taxes; deferral of the upcoming quarterly remittance of education property tax to school boards to provide municipalities with the flexibility to provide property tax deferrals; and the provision of up to $1.9 billion in financial relief by allowing employers to defer WSIB payments for up to six months.

Click here to find out more

March 24
BC Provincial Tax Changes - Action plan

Province announces extension of filing and payment deadlines for certain taxes to September 30, 2020 and postpones certain tax changes announced in Budget 2020 until further notice.

Click here to find out our more
March 23
CRA COVID-19 Update: Fiscal measures for accountants and tax preparers

The Government of Canada has recently announced fiscal measures to help Canadians during this period, some of which affect tax-filing and payment deadlines.

Click here fore more details

Further to the Notice to the Public and the Profession issued on March 13th, 2020, and in light of the exceptional circumstances evolving rapidly, the Tax Court of Canada is further restricting its judicial sittings and operations.

Practice Direction and Order - March 23

Notice to the Public and Profession - March 23

March 19
The Québec government will harmonize its measures with two federal government assistance measures announced yesterday

Click here for the English version
cliquez ici pour la version française
MARCH 18
The federal government today announced an expansive package of relief measures designed to provide economic support for individuals and businesses during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tax compliance measures include the postponement of (1) tax-filing deadlines for trusts to May 1, and individuals to June 1; and (2) payment dates for all taxpayers (individual and corporate) to August 31, without interest or penalty. Also, authorization forms with electronic signatures will now be recognized.

Click here for more details

Trusts other than December 31 – case by case penalty waiver/relief applications

Click here for more details
MARCH 17

Quebec Finance Minister Eric Girard announced that the government is postponing the deadline for producing and filing income tax return for individuals to June 1,2020.


For individuals, deadlines to pay amounts owed on income tax returns for the 2019 tax year is postponed to July 31, 2020. The payment of the June 15, 2020, tax installment is suspended until July 31, 2020 for Quebec taxpayers. For businesses, the payment of tax installments and taxes due as of today is suspended until July 31,2020.
Tax return preparers will be allowed to use an electronic signature on certain forms that they must have their clients sign.

Click here for more details
Individuals and businesses will have until August 31,2020, to pay their income tax due. All tax audits and collection activities are being suspended and there will be greater flexibility in respect of payment agreement for tax debts.

Click here for the Information Bulletin 2020-4 and the announcement made by Revenu Québec

Practice Direction and Order with respect to the Tax Court of Canada

Tax Court of Canada has cancelled all its judicial activities for the weeks of March 16th and March 23rd, to and including March 27, 2020
Download English Version

Download French Version

 

Our Response

The Public Health Agency of Canada is actively monitoring the current outbreak of COVID-19 (Coronavirus) and working with the World Health Organization and other international groups. The federal and provincial governments are rapidly putting in place measures that are precautionary to minimize the risk of exposure and spread.

The health and safety of our staff and members is paramount and, in accordance with the guidance issued by the Ontario and Quebec public health authorities, we have decided to close our Toronto and Montreal offices for the foreseeable future.

Further steps have been taken to work with our landlords to incorporate additional cleaning, hand sanitizers and signage in our premises. We will continue to monitor updates from public health authorities.

Conferences

At this time, we remain optimistic that most of our core conferences will proceed, particularly those scheduled for the fall. However, out of respect for the protocols to which many of our volunteer program committee members are currently subject, and the uncertainty of travel over the coming weeks, we will be holding most of the planning meetings virtually. We will rely upon our live webcasts as an option for delegates and remain on standby to postpone or modify our events as appropriate. Please check our events page to see which events have been cancelled our postponed.

2020 Conferences
Young Practitioner Events

Cancellations

In the event of a cancellation of an event, between now and May 30th, registered delegates will receive a full refund. Alternatively, we will offer delegates the option to save a credit on their CTF account to be applied to a future event or publication order. Please contact conferences@ctf.ca for any inquiries.

Visitors to the CTF Toronto Library

As part of our measures to mitigate the impact of COVID-19, The Research Centre situated in the Toronto office of the Canadian Tax Foundation will be closed for the foreseeable future. Staff will be working remotely during this period to support our members, and can be contacted at:

Ask A librarian
Email the Research Centre
Services will be limited to information we can access on databases and websites and tax research instruction as our staff will not have access to the collection during this time. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

 

Where I can I find more information?

Thank you for your support of the Foundation and our work.

dernières nouvelles

Éclaircissements attendus de l’ARC le 18 mars sur les mesures d’allègement proposées

La communauté fiscale a de nombreuses questions concernant les mesures d’allégement économique annoncées par le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement du Québec pour faire face à la pandémie du COVID-19.  La Fondation collabore avec CPA Canada, l’Association du Barreau canadien, l’APFF  et d’autres intervenants pour faire part de questions et préoccupations.  À l’heure actuelle, on s’attend à ce que l’Agence du revenu du Canada affiche une liste de questions et de réponses, au fur et à mesure qu’elles seront disponibles.  Notre site Web sera mis à jour pour fournir ces informations à nos membres. De plus, nous vous invitons également à nous informer de toute autre question supplémentaire que vous identifierez relativement à ces mesures en nous le communiquant à conferences@ctf.ca.

3 avril
COVID-19 - 100 $ par semaine pour les travailleurs à faible revenu des secteurs essentiels :


Le gouvernement annonce qu'il instaure le Programme incitatif pour la rétention des travailleurs essentiels (PIRTE), qui offrira une prestation de 100 $ par semaine pour les salariés à faible revenu travaillant à temps plein ou à temps partiel dans les services essentiels.

Cliquez ici pour plus détails

Liste des emplois admissibles au Programme incitatif pour la rétention des travailleurs essentiels (PIRTE) :

Cliquez ici pour plus détails

1 avril
Ministère des Finances Canada Nouvelles :


Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a fourni aujourd'hui plus de détails sur la Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU) . La PCU  permet de remettre 2 000 $ / mois à ceux qui ne reçoivent pas d'assurance-emploi. La Subvention s’appliquera aux employeurs admissibles qui subissent une baisse de leurs revenus bruts d'au moins 30% en mars, avril ou mai, par rapport au même mois en 2019. Ils  auront accès à la Subvention pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu'à trois mois, rétroactivement au 15 mars 2020. L'employeur doit attester qu'il fait tous les efforts possibles pour compléter les 25% restants.  Il doit demander la subvention mensuellement. Les demandes seront faites en ligne via un portail de l'ARC. Le paiement de la Subvention est prévu dans six semaines. Il y aura des pénalités importantes imposées en cas d'abus du programme.

Cliquez ici pour les détails généraux fournis

Plus de détails à ajouter à notre site Web dès qu’ils seront publiés.

31 mars
 
Québec - Mesures québécoises d’assouplissement pour les citoyens et les entreprises- document global englobant les mesures annoncées en matière de taxe

Cliquez ici pour plus détails

27 mars
Annonces additionnelles du 27 mars 2020

Le 27 mars, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé d’autres mesures économiques pour soutenir les petites entreprises et les entrepreneurs.  Les mesures comprennent (1) une augmentation des subventions salariales à 75 % , rétroactive au 15 mars, pour que les employeurs maintiennent les travailleurs sur la liste de paie, et (2) des garanties de prêt. Les délais de paiement pour la TPS/TVH et les droits d’importation /exportation ont également été prolongés jusqu’en juin 2020.. De plus, il est  confirmé que la nouvelle Prestation d’intervention d’urgence du Canada de 2 000 $ par mois sera imposable. 

Cliquez ici pour plus détails


De nouvelles mesures pour aider les citoyens et les entreprises annoncées par le gouvernement du Québec, le 27 mars 2020

Le Québec emboîte le pas au gouvernement fédéral et permettra aux entreprises de reporter, jusqu’au 30 juin, leur déclaration et leurs versements à l’égard des remises prévues de TVQ du 31 mars, du 30 avril et du 31 mai, et ce, sans intérêts ni pénalités. De plus, le Québec accélérera le traitement des demandes de crédits d’impôt destinés aux entreprises et les remboursements de taxes.
Revenu Québec met également en place de nouvelles initiatives pour faciliter la vie aux citoyens et aux entreprises.

Cliquez ici pour plus détails

26 mars
Mesures additionnelles d'assouplissement COVID-19

Le 26 mars, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé d’autres détails sur les mesures fiscales prises dans le cadre du programme d’allégement économique COVID-19.

Cliquez ici pour plus détails


Revenu Quebec :

questions et réponses de Revenu Québec  concernant les mesures mises en place en raison de la pandémie de la COVID-19


Cliquez ici pour plus détails

25 mars
Le gouvernement instaure la Prestation canadienne d’urgence pour venir en aide aux travailleurs et aux entreprises

Afin de soutenir les travailleurs et d’aider les entreprises à garder leurs employés en poste, le gouvernement a proposé un projet de loi appelé la Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU). Cette prestation imposable permettrait d’offrir 2 000 $ par mois pendant quatre mois au maximum aux travailleurs qui perdent leur revenu à cause de la pandémie de COVID‑19. La PCU constituerait une combinaison plus simple et plus accessible de l’Allocation de soins d’urgence et de l’Allocation de soutien d’urgence, annoncées antérieurement.

Cliquez ici pour plus détails


Le gouvernement de l'Ontario a rendu publique aujourd'hui une mise à jour économique et financière.  « Le Plan d’action de l’Ontario: Répondre à COVID-19 » décrit la réponse du gouvernement de 17 milliards de dollars.

Les mesures fiscales comprennent une proposition d'augmentation temporaire de l'exonération de l'impôt santé des employeurs; une nouvelle proposition de crédit d'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés - le crédit d'impôt à l'investissement régional pour les occasions d'affaires; une période de cinq mois sans intérêts et sans pénalité pour effectuer le paiement de la majorité des impôts administrés par la province; le report du prochain versement trimestriel de l'impôt foncier scolaire aux conseils scolaires afin d'offrir aux municipalités la souplesse nécessaire pour reporter l'impôt foncier; et jusqu'à 1,9 milliard de dollars d'allégements financiers en permettant aux employeurs de reporter les paiements de la CSPAAT pour une période pouvant aller jusqu'à six mois.

Cliquez ici pour plus détails


23 mars
Mise à jour relative à la COVID-19 : Mesures fiscales pour les comptables et les préparateurs de déclarations de revenus.

Le gouvernement du Canada a récemment annoncé des mesures fiscales pour aider les Canadiens pendant cette période difficile. Il a notamment repoussé les dates limites pour payer les soldes dus et produire les déclarations de revenus.

Cliquez ici pour plus détails


Pour faire suite à l’Avis au public et à la communauté juridique émis le 13 mars 2020, et compte tenu des circonstances exceptionnelles qui évoluent rapidement, la Cour canadienne de l’impôt limite encore davantage ses activités et ses séances.

Directive sur la procédure et ordonnance - 23 mars

Avis au public et à la communauté juridique - 23 mars

19 mars


Le gouvernement du Québec s’harmonisera avec le gouvernementfédéral relativement à deux des mesures d’aide annoncées


cliquez ici pour la version française
Click here for the English version

18 mars
Le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé aujourd’hui un ensemble de mesures  visant à fournir un soutien économique aux particuliers et aux entreprises pendant la pandémie COVID-19. Les mesures comprennent le report (1) des délais de déclaration de revenus pour les fiducies jusqu’au 1er mai et les particuliers jusqu’au 1er juin et (2) les dates de paiement  dû pour tous les contribuables (individus et corporations) jusqu’au 31 août, sans intérêt ni pénalité. De plus, les formulaires avec signatures électroniques seront désormais acceptés.

Cliquez ici pour plus détails
17 mars


Le ministre des Finances annonce que le gouvernement reporte la date limite pour produire et transmettre la déclaration de revenus des particuliers au 1er juin 2020.


La date limite pour payer tout solde dû sur la déclaration de revenus pour l’année d’imposition 2019 est reportée au 31 juillet 2020. Les versements des acomptes provisionnels du 15 juin 2020 sont suspendus jusqu’au 31 juillet 2020.

Pour les entreprises, le paiement des acomptes provisionnels et des impôts dus à compter d’aujourd’hui est suspendu jusqu’au 31 juillet 2020.
Les préparateurs de déclarations de revenus  pourront recourir à  une signature électronique sur certains formulaires qu’ils soivent faire signer à  leurs clients.


Le solde d’impôt dû pour l’année d’imposition 2019 devra être payé au plus tard le 31 août 2020 dans le cas des particuliers et des entreprises. Les activités liées à la vérification fiscale et au recouvrement sont suspendues et il y aura souplesse sur la durée habituelle des ententes de paiement liées aux dettes fiscales.

Voici un lien vers le bulletin d’information 2020-4 et sur l’annonce faite par Revenu Québec


Directive sur la pratique et ordonnance

la Cour canadienne de l’impôt a annulé toutes ses activités judiciaires prévues durant les semaines du 16 et du 23 mars 2020, jusqu’au 27 mars inclusivement;

version française

version anglais

NOTRE RÉPONSE

L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada surveille activement l’éclosion actuelle du COVID-19 (Coronavirus) et collabore avec l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé et d’autres groupes internationaux. Les gouvernements fédéraux et provinciaux mettent rapidement en place des mesures de précaution qui sont prises pour réduire au minimum le risque d’exposition et de propagation.

La santé et la sécurité de notre personnel et de nos membres sont primordiales et, conformément aux directives émises par les autorités de santé publique de l’Ontario et du Québec, nous avons décidé de fermer nos bureaux de Toronto et de Montréal.

D’autres mesures ont été prises pour travailler avec nos propriétaires afin d’incorporer des nettoyages supplémentaires, des désinfectants pour les mains et des panneaux dans nos locaux. Nous continuerons de surveiller les mises à jour des autorités de santé publique.

Conférences

À l’heure actuelle, nous demeurons optimistes quant au fait que la plupart de nos conférences se dérouleront comme prévu, en particulier si elles sont prévues pour l’automne. Cependant, par respect pour les protocoles auxquels sont actuellement soumis les membres de nos comités et compte tenu de  l’incertitude entourant les déplacements au cours des prochaines semaines, nous organiserons virtuellement la plupart des réunions de planification. Nous comptons sur nos Web émissions en direct afin de présenter une option  à nos  délégués et demeurerons à l’affût en vue de déterminer s’il y a lieu de reporter ou de modifier nos événements, le cas échéant. Veuillez consulter notre page d’événements pour voir quels événements ont été annulés ou reportés.

Calendrier des événements 2020
Événements pour les jeunes fiscalistes

Annualations

En cas d’annulation d’un événement, d’ici le 30 mai, les délégués inscrits recevront un remboursement complet. Par ailleurs, nous offrirons aux délégués la possibilité d’utiliser le  montant payé comme un crédit applicable  pour  un autre événement ou pour une commande future de publication. Veuillez contacter conferences@ctf.ca pour toute demande de renseignements.

VISITEURS DE LA BIBLIOTHÈQUE DE LA FCF DE TORONTO

Dans le cadre de nos mesures visant à atténuer l’impact du COVID-19, le Centre de recherche situé dans le bureau de Toronto de la Fondation canadienne de fiscalité  sera fermé. Le personnel travaillera à distance pendant cette période pour soutenir nos membres et pourra être contacté à l’adresse suivante :

DEMANDEZ À UN BIBLIOTHÉCAIRE
COURRIEL AU CENTRE DE RECHERCHE
Les services offerts seront limités à l’information à laquelle nous pouvons accéder dans les bases de données et les sites Web. Notre personnel n’aura pas accès à la collection de la bibliothèque de la Fondation  pendant cette période. Nous nous excusons pour tout inconvénient et vous remercions de votre compréhension.

 

OÙ PUIS-JE TROUVER PLUS D’INFORMATIONS?

Merci de votre soutien à la Fondation.