Student Paper Award

The Canadian Tax Foundation Fasken Martineau DuMoulin Award for Ontario 2002-3

Kathleen C. Young

The Canadian Tax Foundation is pleased to announce that Kathleen C. Young is the winner of the 2002-3 Canadian Tax Foundation-Fasken Martineau DuMoulin award for Ontario for the best student paper submitted on matters affecting the Canadian tax system. Ms. Young wrote "Mutual Fund and Segregated Fund Flowthrough Tax Rules: Resolving the Inconsistencies" as a student in the University of Waterloo's Master of Taxation program, from which she graduated in 2003. The paper was also awarded the University of Waterloo's Donald and Geraldine Beam Award for best thesis. In addition, Ms. Young received the Canadian Tax Foundation 2003 Scholar Award, which is presented annually to the highest-ranking student in the Master of Taxation program. She earned her MBA from McMaster University (1977) and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario (1979). As vice-president and treasurer, she was the senior tax executive at Aim Funds Management Inc. (formerly Trimark Investment Management Inc.) from 1988 to 2001. Ms. Young is currently a tax and financial consultant to the mutual fund industry based in the Toronto area.

(October 2004)