About the Awards

Douglas J. Sherbaniuk Distinguished Writing Award

The Douglas J. Sherbaniuk Distinguished Writing Award, which is named after the Foundation's late director emeritus, is conferred annually on the author of the best writing published by the Foundation in the previous year. A committee of experienced tax professionals is convened to make the selection.
Learn more

Student Paper Award

Each year, the Foundation will award up to four regional student-paper prizes. Depending on the merit of papers received, one prize may be awarded for each of four regions of the country: Atlantic Canada (the CTF-McInnes Cooper Award), Quebec (the CTF-Osler Hoskin & Harcourt Award), Ontario (the CTF-Fasken Martineau DuMoulin Award), and western Canada (the CTF-Bert Wolfe Nitikman Foundation Award). Papers may be written in either English or French and must be recommended for award consideration by the professor or instructor of the course.
Learn more

Best Newsletter Article by a Young Practitioner Award

The Canadian Tax Foundation has chosen to encourage the writing of newsletter articles by YPs by creating the “Best Newsletter Article by a Young Practitioner Award”.  The award is to be given for the best newsletter article which (a) appeared in any of the 3 CTF newsletters in a calendar year, and (b) was written solely by one or more authors who was a YP at the time of publication. The first award is for the year 2014, and was presented at the Board of Governors Mentorship Dinner Gala in Montreal on November 21, 2015, immediately preceding the 67th Annual Tax Conference.

Learn more